What to read after a natural disaster?

When a natural disaster strikes it impacts entires communities for years. I remember living in Middle TN when tornados ripped through Murfreesboro on Easter weekend. Years later I still had students panic during tornado drills, cry at the sounds of rain and families that were rebuilding their lives and homes.

Facing a crisis may be one of the hardest things a counselor can face. Not only are you taking care of your clients, students, faculty members, and families, but you are also taking care of yourself.

Here are some of my favorite resources to help you and others after a natural disaster.

Picture books for children:

Books To Support Students After A Natural Disaster

Hurricane by David Wiesner

51YjzBSizbL._SY423_BO1,204,203,200_

Once I Was Very Very Scared by Chandra Ghosh Ippen  

519S15aGSDL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_

Clifford And The Big Storm by Norman Bridwell

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 9.25.44 AM

When Worry Takes by Liz Haske(Author)

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 9.27.30 AM

Me And My Fear by Francesca Sanna

51hlqsqbsFL._SX473_BO1,204,203,200_

 A Terrible Thing Happened, by Margaret M. Holmes and Sasha J. Mudlaff

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 9.45.04 AM

Jenny Is Scared: When Sad Things Happen in the World by Carol Shuman

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 9.28.59 AM

Flood by Alvaro F. Villa

https___blogs-images.forbes.com_tarahaelle_files_2017_08_91cfuBsfW-L-1200x947

The Birdie Book Series

Activities to partner with the books:

Check out my list of mindfulness resources here.

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 10.20.25 AM

CLASSROOM YOGA: Mindfulness Yoga Poses for Kids + Calm Corner Sensory Break By WholeHearted School Counseling 

original-5072187-1

Mindfulness Dog Breaths: 24 Breathing Techniques By Mental Fills Counseling Tools

home-3516594-1

Trauma Workbook and Healing Counseling Activities by  Mental Fills Counseling Tools

large-3661860-1

Coping Skills Activities Interactive Calming Strategies Lap Book By Counselor Keri

home-3737168-1

Worry Ninja Power Cards By School Counseling Files

home-1104635-1

CBT Worksheets: Feelings Thermometers and Thought Maps By Social Emotional Workshop

home-1958753-1

The Things I Can Control and Can’t Control FREE Poster! By WholeHearted School Counseling

home-4993323-1

Sand Tray Therapy

http://southernsandtray.com

10commandments

Play Therapy

https://www.a4pt.org

logo-horizontal

Small group resources:

Group Counseling Routines By The Responsive Counselor

home-4403775-1

*It is imperative that students find safety and security with routines at school after a tragedy.

Counselor – GRIEF Small Group Ideas By The Counseling Teacher Brandy

home-708215-1

Stress Management Activities Group Counseling Program Interactive Notebook By Counselor Keri

home-3016477-1

School-wide and teacher resources:

10 Tips For Crisis Response Counseling By The School Counselor Is In

home-3088819-1

Trauma Sensitive Classroom Rules & Expectations Poster *In Our Class We…… by Whole Hearted School Counseling

original-4440068-1

Books for adults:

Healing Your Grief When Disaster Strikes: 100 Practical Ideas for Coping After a Tornado, Hurricane, Flood, Earthquake, Wildfire, or Other Natural Disaster by Alan D. Wolfelt

Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 3.58.52 PM

Find more support here: https://www.schoolcounselor.org/school-counselors/professional-development/learn-more/natural-disasters-helping-kids-during-crisis

2 thoughts on “What to read after a natural disaster?

  1. Tanya says:

    Wow – This is such a great list – many of these books I have never heard of before so very helpful to be aware of them. Also, thank you for the additional TPT, etc. resources. Very helpful post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s